you're reading...
Heavy meal, Recipe, Vegan

Green Goddess Pasta (a spin-off)

A bite of Mount Olympus

Looks like summer, tastes like fall.

My lovely cousin who writes Cranberries and Croutons posted a recipe for Green Goddess Rice & Simplicity just a few days ago. As a loyal subscriber, I read the recipe and almost died of excitement. Her recipe has no milk. Shut the front door! I had to try it.

Avocados and I are more than friends, we’re lovers. I love everything about avocados and they love my hips. It’s an even trade off. Rice and I, on the other hand, are not so friendly. Rice has offended me too often, so I left it for its nicer cousin, pasta. Rotini, to be specific.

I also ended up adding peas and olive oil pan fried chicken. These two ingredients made a lovely side dish into a taste-bud entrancing dinner. Tickle me again, Green Goddess. Mmmm.

Want to try it? The recipe’s below. 🙂

Ingredients

  • 1 lb of rotini
  • 2 small avocados, peeled, pitted, and coarsely chopped
  • 1 cup fresh basil leaves
  • 1 1/2 lemons, juiced
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 5 Tbsp olive oil, plus a little more to cook the chicken and to keep the rotini separate before adding the sauce
  • 2 chicken breasts (substitute to keep this vegan)
  • 1 Tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 can of sweet peas
  • salt and pepper to taste

Put a pot of water to boil and cook your pound of pasta. Once it’s cooked, I usually sprinkle it with some olive oil to keep it from sticking together.

While the water’s cooking, fry up your chicken breasts or vegan substitute. To make it easier, I cut them up and then fry them. That way I know each small piece of chicken will cook the same way. No chance of salmonella tonight! Don’t forget to add in some olive oil and 1 Tbsp of minced garlic. No garlic = no bueno. Yeah, that’s Latin. No big.

As everything is making its way from raw to cooked on your stove, whip out that blender and do a little twirl. It’s avocado time, baby! Plop your avocado chunks, 5 Tbsp of olive oil, a squirt or two of lemon juice, a handful of basil leaves, and half a cup of water in the blender. Whip it up good! It should be smooth, thick, and tangy. Add lemon, salt, pepper and other seasonings to taste.

Moment of truth. Mix the cooked chicken, avocado sauce, sweet peas and rotini together and season to taste. I put just a little extra salt to bring out the heart-melting, mmm mmm-inspiring taste of avocado, basil, chicken and garlic. Oooo, la la. Vair magnifique. Woof.

I’m a happy camper. Are you?

Hint: this was totally vegan until I added the chicken. If you want to keep it vegan, add your favorite beans, tofu or other protein to make it a proper meal.

Update on August 30, 2011: Oh my goodness! Revelation! This dish would be fantastic with shrimp instead of chicken. Mmmm.

About mcsassifrass

I'm a young professional woman who loves food, but doesn't eat dairy. Although cows are cute and tasty, I'm not a calf, so I can't digest their milk. Go figure. This blog is to share how I live a healthy, delicious, dairy-free existence. So pick up your wooden spoon and follow me into the kitchen!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

