you're reading...
Adventure, British Heritage, English Heritage, Heavy meal, Scottish Cuisine

An Offal Adventure, Part Deux: The Eats

Hello world,

I just ate haggis… again. I’m a changed woman.

It tastes extremely similar to corned beef hash, actually. It’s just that the corned beef is liver and the hash is oat. So, not much like it, but similar in texture and appearance.

Go figure.

Definitely not a bottle of Jack

Haggis, beaujolais and reading... what more is there to life?

I may not brush my teeth with a bottle of Jack, but I do enjoy a glass of Beaujolais more often than not. This mild red wine complements any red meat, but also can stand alone as a best-dessert-on-this-side-of-the-planet. Come to think of it, I don’t know of any outstanding desserts from the other side of the planet. Challenge accepted. We should get back to the real reason you’re reading this… my offal adventure with Scottish cuisine.

Haggis traditionally is a Scottish dish of lamb offal stuffed in a sheep’s stomach with oats and stock. That doesn’t sound too appealing, I know. Definitely couldn’t put a vegetarian spin on this one. However, this meal was, incredibly, one of the best I’ve had in a while. Maybe it was the build-up. Maybe it was the storm. Maybe it was the fact that I didn’t actually have to cut through a sheep’s stomach.

Yeah, you know, I felt a little untraditional. I was ready to rip open that sheep’s stomach after boiling the friggen thing in stock for hours. I was ready to handle the stomach with my bare hands (ew ew ew ew ew, gross). When I opened the can (away from me, in case it splattered), I was mildly disappointed, then incredibly relieved. Not only did my haggis taste like corned beef hash, but it looked like it, too. Fantastic! I know how to cook this. Simple as… actually, way simpler than pie.

Ingredients

Maybe it's not fancy, but it sure tastes good.

It may look like dog food, but it's more offal than anything you've ever had.

  • 1 can of haggis
  • yellow squash
  • honey mustard
  • olive oil
  • frozen corn
  • salt
  • margarine

Take a larger pan out and place it on your stove. Scoop the haggis out of the can. It ain’t coming out any other way. Believe me, I tried to get it to just dump out. Fail.

Turn the stove on medium heat and heat up your haggis for about 20 minutes. I left mine on the stove for around 40, but only because I like it crispy and very warm. Also, my squash wasn’t finished cooking, yet.

Cut your squash up into pieces about half a centimeter thick, but circular, in keeping with the shape of the squash. Place these in a pot and pour a little olive oil on them. Once you think they’re cooked enough, cover them with honey mustard and fry them up in your pot until you have some browned sides.

Heat your frozen corn up in a small pot with a little bit of water. Salt to taste (everything, but the haggis is salty enough, I promise).

Fin! That was easy. All that preparation and it was a simple, offal process. Maybe next time I’ll make haggis from scratch.

Loveski,

McSass

p.s. I’ve recorded the entire process. Once I edit the video, I’m totes posting it on youtube and linking it here. 🙂

About mcsassifrass

I'm a young professional woman who loves food, but doesn't eat dairy. Although cows are cute and tasty, I'm not a calf, so I can't digest their milk. Go figure. This blog is to share how I live a healthy, delicious, dairy-free existence. So pick up your wooden spoon and follow me into the kitchen!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

