you're reading...
British Heritage, English Heritage, Morning food, Recipe, Snack, Sweets, Vegetarian

Crumpets and Tea

I feel like a Brit.

crumpet with honey

I always burn the bottom. Why do I always burn the bottom?

You wouldn’t believe the excitement on my face when I found crumpets in Trader Joe’s. I was so happy, I gasped with joy. My excitement gathered momentum as I read the ingredients and found no dairy. Fantastic!

Now, you’re probably wondering why I don’t make them from scratch. Ha. I have a few very good reasons.

  1. It takes too darn long.
  2. I don’t have all the required cooking supplies. (ex. a circular metal cut out to place in a pan)
  3. The cost would be more to make them from scratch versus buying ready-made crumpets.
  4. Trader Joe’s crumpets are just as good, if not better, than anything I could make. (This may or may not be true. This reason is purely for my own justification needs.)

While I’m in imaginary British land, let me burst your British bubble by telling you that I only drink real British tea on special occassions. You see, it turns my teeth yellow much faster than coffee, so I drink herbal tea during work hours. Lemon Zinger, to be specific. At home, where I have access to a toothbrush, I dare to drink my strong English Breakfast Tea that I bought in London, across the street from Buckingham Palace. Ooer.

Crumpets are traditionally eaten with preserves. I eat them with anything: honey, jelly, peanut butter, or margarine. I bet I could put an egg on top and enjoy it immensely. My favorite thing to put on a crumpet is peanut butter, but I think that’s just me. Shhh! Don’t tell my British friends how I’ve desocrated their lovely breakfast delight with my American peanut butter.

Loveski,

McSass

p.s. In case you didn’t know, all you have to do is toast your crumpets. Don’t eat them cold, as they’re weird and too spongy that way. Just toast them up and add whatever topping you want. If you come up with some awesome, spectacularly fantabulous topping, like mashed blueberries and coconut, then please let me know. I’d love to try something new and awesome!

About mcsassifrass

I'm a young professional woman who loves food, but doesn't eat dairy. Although cows are cute and tasty, I'm not a calf, so I can't digest their milk. Go figure. This blog is to share how I live a healthy, delicious, dairy-free existence. So pick up your wooden spoon and follow me into the kitchen!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Crumpets and Tea

  1. I also love crumpets and tea- I’ll have to give the Trader Joe’s brand a go. 🙂

    Posted by steph | September 28, 2011, 10:25 pm
  2. Yeah, they’re pretty good. I’ve just bought their cinnamon flavor, but have yet to try it. Maybe they’ll be my dinner tonight. 🙂

    Posted by mcsassifrass | September 29, 2011, 10:10 am

Leave a Reply

