you're reading...
Gluten-free, Light meal, Morning food, Recipe, Snack, Sweets, Vegan, Vegetarian

Pear Sauce

My parents have a pear tree that has been shedding pears unmercifully. Last spring, before everything started to bloom, my dad and I pruned many new shoots and some old branches from our beautiful pear tree. The goal was to help it produce fewer, bigger, jucier pears. It had another plan.

The remaining branches doubled over with the pains of pear-birth this month. We have way more pears than we can use, and I come from a pretty large family. My parents still have 4 children living at home, all in high school. That’s a lot of adolescent mouths to feed.

To help them out a little *hem hem*, I stole two large bags full of mostly-ripe pears. What? They weren’t going to eat them. It totaled about 50 pears in total. Good grief, right?

This week, prepare yourself for a Very Pear Adventure. It could turn into an annual thing, if I still live close to my parents in the years to come.

Pear Sauce

Ingredients

  • pears, about 15
  • water
  • brown sugar
  • cinnamon

Peel your pears, then dice them up into the smallest chunks possible. Fill your pot to about three-quarters full of your pear chunks. Now add about an inch of water to the bottom. You may not be able to see into the bottom, so estimate about a cup of water.

Turn the burner on to medium, maybe a little higher. Put the lid on your pot and stir periodically. You’re trying to steam or boil your pears so they mush right up and look like apple sauce, except pear flavored. If you open your pot too much, it’ll take longer. If you don’t stir it, however, it could burn on the bottom. So basically, stir ever 3-4 minutes until it gets all sauce-like. Once it looks more like sauce, turn your burner down to medium low and stir more frequently. It’s crucial that you don’t burn your sauce, because, well, gross.

Depending on how mushy your pears were to begin with, the heating-on-the-stove process could take anywhere from 20 minutes to 2 hours. My pears were pretty darn hard, so it took

Fresh from the "farm" pear sauce

Fresh from the tree, then the stove, and now freshly in my tummy. Mmmm.

closer to 2 hours. If you have riper pears, it’ll probably only take 20 minutes.

Once your pears are a mushy enough consistency, add cinnamon and brown sugar to taste. Mmmm. Chunky can be good, too. My pear sauce is a little chunky and I think it’s charming.

Signing off,

McSassifrass

About mcsassifrass

I'm a young professional woman who loves food, but doesn't eat dairy. Although cows are cute and tasty, I'm not a calf, so I can't digest their milk. Go figure. This blog is to share how I live a healthy, delicious, dairy-free existence. So pick up your wooden spoon and follow me into the kitchen!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

