you're reading...
Recipe, Snack, Sweets, Vegetarian

Chocolate Orange Cupcakes

Have you ever had one of those chocolate oranges? You know, those absolutely divine chocolates shaped like oranges? Everyone secretly wishes for one in her Christmas stocking. In case you don’t know what I’m talking about, get educated!  (But don’t buy any, because I’m not sure if they’re dairy-free or not.)

I ate three within a few hours.

I ate three in one day.

Anyway, I’ve been planning a trip down dairy-free chocolate orange lane for quite a while… I just didn’t know how to get there. After further internet investigation, brainstorming with my marathon-runner roommate and stalking around grocery store isles, I found the perfect combination for my orange chocolate craving.

Like a boss

Sweet, but not too sweet.

Chocolate Orange Cupcakes

Cake Ingredients 

  • 1 box of devil’s food cake (I’m a cheater, I know.)
  • 2/3 cup oil (or amount asked for on box)
  • 3 eggs (or amount asked for on box)
  • orange juice (amount of water asked for on box)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp orange extract
Frosting Ingredients
  • 1 large can of dairy-free white frosting
  • 2 tbsp orange extract
  • red and yellow food coloring
Extra Decorative Ingredients
  • 24 dried apricots
  • 2 tsp chocolate powder
  • dairy-free chocolate chips (I use the Trader Joe’s brand.)
Unmixed cake mix

Almost there!

These cupcakes are quite simple. It goes as following:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Mix all cake ingredients together in a large bowl.
  3. Pour cake mix into cupcake papers.
  4. Bake for 20 minutes.
  5. Let the cupcakes cool, fool!
  6. Mix all the icing ingredients together gently.
  7. Apply icing to cooled cupcakes and decorate.
  8. Enjoy!
unbaked chocolate orange cupcakes

It's supposed to make 24, but after my indulgent cake batter episode, I could only make 23.

I didn't burn them!

I didn't burn them, see!!!

I’m a total cheater when it comes to cupcake making. I know it and you know it. But you know what? It’s easy, affordable, and extremely delicious. There, you know my secret. You’re going to have to keep it. No one else can see this. And it goes like…

Delicate, satisfyingly orange chocolate cupcakes

The apricot makes it, I think.

About mcsassifrass

I'm a young professional woman who loves food, but doesn't eat dairy. Although cows are cute and tasty, I'm not a calf, so I can't digest their milk. Go figure. This blog is to share how I live a healthy, delicious, dairy-free existence. So pick up your wooden spoon and follow me into the kitchen!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Orange Cupcakes

  1. These look decadent. I love chocolate and orange together. Perfect for the holidays!

    Posted by Savory Simple | October 19, 2011, 11:56 pm
  2. OMG I have to make these! How did I not follow your blog before??? I am dairy free as well (my child has a dairy allergy plus I am just DONE with drinking another mammal’s milk!). I am so excited to dive into your blog. You are amazing!

    Posted by 1veggieatatime | May 30, 2012, 11:34 pm

Leave a Reply

