you're reading...
Dinner, Gluten-free, Heavy meal, Recipe, Vegan, Vegetarian

Homemade Dairy-Free Alfredo Sauce (or Dip)

Do you ever feel like you have just glimpsed inside the mind of a famous chef? I certainly did after creating this dairy-free Alfredo masterpiece. Did I mention that my entire family thought it was made with cheese? Yeah, they were all surprised it was vegan.

One of the perks of being completely dairy-free is accidentally making vegan food. As long as my creations don’t have meat or eggs, there’s a good chance they’re certifiably vegan. This Alfredo sauce easily slid itself into the vegan category, through no forethought on my part.

Beans, beans, they're good for your heart

My sauce won’t make you bootilicious, though, so don’t worry yourself into a tizzy. If you cook like I do, you won’t have to worry about becoming bootilicious. Most of my dishes are healthier than your grandma’s cooking. The ones that aren’t so healthy, I hide in the cupboard until I can give the rest away. It’s a fool proof plan, I tell you.

Bean and Artichoke Heart Sauce

Ingredients

  • 1 12 oz. can of butter beans
  • 1 12 oz. can of artichoke hearts
  • 1 white onion
  • 1 tablespoon of minced garlic
  • a little olive oil
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • rosemary, to taste (feel free to substitute any other herbs you want)

This is possibly the easiest sauce in the world.

Cold vegi dip

Mince your onions and fry them in a little olive oil on medium heat.

Open your can of butter beans and microwave them (in a microwave safe bowl) for about a minute and a half in the fluid from the can. Take your heated beans and blend the crap out of them in a food processor or blender. Add these to a medium sized pot.

Open your can of artichoke hearts and microwave them (in a microwave safe bowl) for about a minute and a half. Keep the fluid from the can with your artichoke hearts. Take your warm artichoke hearts and cream them in a food processor or blender. Add this creamed mixture to the bean pot.

It tastes cheesy, but it's vegan!

It tastes cheesy, but it's vegan!

Add a tablespoon of minced garlic to your frying onions. Once you can smell the sweet aroma of onions and garlic, pour the mixture, with the olive oil, into your food processor or blender. Cream this up and add it to your medium pot.

Add salt, pepper, and herbs to taste. Wasn’t that easy?

I use this sauce with pasta, as a vegi dip when cold, and as a warm tortilla chip dip. I’ve also used it to stuff homemade ravioli. It’s healthy, delicious, and vegan. Who knew?

Doesn't look like much, but it's a fulfilling dinner.

About mcsassifrass

I'm a young professional woman who loves food, but doesn't eat dairy. Although cows are cute and tasty, I'm not a calf, so I can't digest their milk. Go figure. This blog is to share how I live a healthy, delicious, dairy-free existence. So pick up your wooden spoon and follow me into the kitchen!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

