you're reading...
Morning food, Recipe, Snack, Sweets, Vegan, Vegetarian

Maple Pumpkin Breakfast Cookies

A breakfast cookies is a larger cookie that has less sugar. It’s intended to be healthier, more filling, and less fattening. Think of a breakfast cookie as something between a regular sugar cookie and a scone.

I went slightly crazy making cookies this weekend, with a freak blizzard in October all a-brewing outside. Most of my family and friends in the area lost power, but my house managed to hold on for most of the day. After baking  these scrumptious treats (thank goodness!), we finally lost power.

Smooth, delicious, fall flavor!

Maple Pumpkin Breakfast Cookies

Ingredients

  • 3 cups of flour (if you want to be healthier, use half white flour and half whole wheat flour)
  • 3 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon of pumpkin spice (or 3/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg)
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 2/3 cup of brown sugar (you can use less if you want to)
  • 1 cup of pumpkin puree
  • 1/3 cup of coconut milk (or almond milk, soy milk, your milk substitute)
  • 6 tablespoons of vegetable oil
  • 1/8 cup of maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup of crushed walnuts (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a huge bowl, mix together all the dry ingredients.

Add the wet ingredients in this order: coconut milk, oil, pumpkin, maple syrup. It gets hard to mix in the pumpkin if you mix it in another order. Nobody likes clumpy cookies… unless they’re supposed to be clumpy.

A breakfast of autumn flavors

Use a baking sheet with sides for these… just in case. Sometimes they spread out and you don’t want to clean burnt cookie off the bottom of your oven.

Using a tablespoon, scoop out about twice the amount you’d normally use for regular cookies and place on the baking sheet. The dollops of cookie batter should be about an inch and a half in diameter. Leave at least an inch between cookie dough dollops.

Bake for about 22 minutes or until they’re golden brown around the edges. I gently poked the top of the cookies with my finger and knew they were finished when it didn’t sink, but bounced right back. I wouldn’t try that at home, though. Way too much could go wrong with my cookie testing method.

Full of flavor and fall

Let them cool on the pan for 5 minutes, then place them on a cooling rack.

Viola! Your breakfast cookies are finished! Please let me know how yours turn out. I’m excited to know!

Signing off,

McSass

Like a boss.

Stay tuned for tomorrow's new breakfast cookie!

p.s. Once Breakfast Cookie Week is over, I’ll post a recipe that I perfected last night for Dairy-Free Pumpkin Pie Ice Cream. It’s an original recipe and vegan!!! I’m battling my selfish wish to keep it all of myself right now. Maybe I should share it. No, it’s too good to share. Choices. ಠ_ಠ

About mcsassifrass

I'm a young professional woman who loves food, but doesn't eat dairy. Although cows are cute and tasty, I'm not a calf, so I can't digest their milk. Go figure. This blog is to share how I live a healthy, delicious, dairy-free existence. So pick up your wooden spoon and follow me into the kitchen!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Archives

November 2011
S M T W T F S
« Oct    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
